Trail Running!!! First trail run today!

So after running my first half race I took some time to do some cross training and let my legs heal before I went on a hard run again. I didn’t wait very long to run though – I went on Thursday around the lake! It felt so amazing to run a race and NOT  be in crutches afterwards!! I could celebrate my run as a fit and healthy athlete!!

I had really been considering the Tough Mudder for awhile now and I think having something other than bass to distract me in Texas will be a good thing. I think you make great friends through gyms and fitness – at least I always have. On Friday while doing some interval training on the elliptical I was reading the Runner’s World special on Trail Running. Three pictures and one article in, I was hooked, the issue even talked about obstacle races such as the Spartan, Tough Mudder, and Warrior Dash. I’ve read about trail running and these obstacle races before, but I was so concerned then about just becoming a “good” regular road runner that adding extra challenges was the last thing I had on my mind. After working so hard and doing so well on this most recent race I really have the confidence I need to take that leap now. So I am signing up for the Tough Mudder in Austin in October and starting to research trail running as much as I have distance running.

Today after a moderate hike this morning, I decided it would be a smart idea to go for my first trail run. I’m lucky that there is a group of trails in the environmental area that has an entrance in my neighborhood. It was 85 degrees, humid, and hazy, but I was on a major adrenaline high of trying it out. It whooped my butt. I feel muscles and things that I didn’t know existed in my legs and my pace was cautious after tripping over a few roots. I never fell though!! I think it’s going to be really fun, yes I ran through a few gross spider webs and had my legs crusted with mud, but I enjoyed seeing the creek/river flowing beside me and the trees provided a lot of shade. Can’t wait to see how I feel tomorrow.

Mileage – 3 miles

QOD – If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.

Leave a Reply

