What a Difference a Day Makes!

Yesterday I wanted to run a 10 miler. Unfortunately I also picked to sleep in and go for an evening run…which would have been fine except it was 88 degrees and the sun was BRUTAL. I was dehydrated and so hot I was incredibly slow. I barely knocked out 7.5 miles and I was scared I was just going to pass out out at one point, but I needed a long run this week because I missed last weeks. Not as long as I’d like to have gone of course, but I think that should tide my legs over until next Sunday/Monday.

Today on the other hand I couldn’t run in the morning so I ran again in the evening but it was PERFECT. 100% perfect running weather. Sunny, but it was cool and breezy and there were some clouds in the sky. I wish I had known because I would’ve just run a short run yesterday and saved the 10 miler for tonight. Alas, I didn’t know so today I just breezed through a recovery run and did some abs and legs.

Yesterday was the Boston Marathon!!! I admire all the runners who ran it, especially in such killer heat, and how they work so hard to qualify for the most famous marathon in the country!! Someday I will run it….when I get fast enough….

Mileage – 2.1 miles

QOD – Running is not, as it so often seems, only about what you did in your last race or about how many miles you ran last week. It is, in a much more important way, about community, about appreciating all the miles run by other runners, too.

Leave a Reply

