Recovery….Run?

The weather was nice, I had all day to myself, why not run this morning? Well I had done a long run yesterday. Then I looked at marathonsweetheart’s blog (GO GIRL!) when I woke up and she had a recent post about resting the day before a long run and then doing an easy run the day AFTER your long run. I did the reverse of this while training for my marathon and I figure why not give this new idea a try. I’ve heard that walking or being active the night of/morning after a long run helps release the build up of acids in your muscles so I’ve always just stretched the night of a long run and done light cross training the day after a long run.

So today I went for a nice easy run and my pace was actually faster than it was yesterday and my legs felt pretty good! My feet were definitely still hurting and I’ll have to keep my toenails painted always because I’m sure my bruising will come back haha oh well. It was a little chillier today but it was nice in the sunshine. I definitely need to get back to my old stretching routine because I don’t want to run into the issue of my hips getting really out of line again. 

Also today I bought my 26.2 and 13.1 stickers for my car. Lame I know, but motivation! AND I sold and donated a bunch of my old, overweight Sarah clothes. No turning back, have to fit into everything I own now! I’ve also recruited my little brother, who is an art majors, to help me design one of my tattoos…which is partially running inspired.

Mileage – 2.18miles

QOD – If you want to become the best runner you can be, start now. Don’t spend the rest of your life wondering if you can do it.  

Leave a Reply

