Long Run Mondays and an Interesting Correlation.

When I was training for my marathon, I really enjoyed doing my long runs on Monday morning because I luckily didn’t have any classes on Mondays until later in the day. When it was hot, Sundays didn’t work for me because I had church early in the morning, and when it was cold I had things to do later in the day when it was warmer. Long runs on Monday was great, because no matter how busy the rest of my week got, I started off with a long run so I wouldn’t ever miss racking up my mileage – it was only a matter of maintaining my cardiovascular endurance the rest of the week. My long runs shrank the month before my marathon, and after my marathon I hardly ran for 2 months because of my foot injury.

January brought a few 5k runs and miles occasionally here and there as some of you may have read and Thursday I cranked out my first 4 miler since the race. Well today I cranked out my first 5 miler since the race and I think my long run is back on for Mondays for the rest of the semester. I was so nervous about todays run actually. I was concerned my legs would be tired, my foot would start to hurt, or I just wouldn’t have the mental endurance I used to have. But really I think I’ve kept myself in pretty good shape with the elliptical, short hill runs, and leg strengthening. I just have to build up my lungs again. Mentally – I think once you do a marathon, you can always jump back into running and know you can do anything. I’m not going to let a little injury shake my confidence.

The QOD of the day attests to how much my bass playing has improved in 8 months or so and I have no doubt that training for my races and getting my butt in shape has improved my mental determination and physical well being. Those qualities have spread to every other aspect of my life. It’s no coincidence my bass playing has improved – I’m never going to let my body and health slide away from me again.

Mileage – 5 miles

QOD – The higher your energy level, the more efficient your body. The more efficient your body, the better you feel and the more you will use your talent to produce outstanding results.

Leave a Reply

