Treadmills Blow.

Treadmills suck. Treadmills are dumb. I really dislike treadmills. I could say it a million different ways.

Power to those people who can run forever on any surface. But I NEED the outdoors to run distance – I need distraction, visual changes, and no pace cheating. Treadmills saved me this summer when I worked during the wee hours of the morning and my runs were pushed to mid-afternoon in 90 degree heat but I still disliked the machines. Today I was hoping the treadmill would help me out in below freezing weather. I can do the 40’s, even the upper 30’s, but when it feels like 16 degrees and its 24?!?!? HAHA. No. I’m not running in that, sorry. So I postponed my run until this evening hoping the treadmills at UREC would treat me better.

Alas, my ankles were mad at me the whole time and my right knee was like “WOAH what is this surface??”. Like I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I love running on asphalt – it feels great under my legs. I felt sluggish, slow, exhausted, and as if I was being dragged along… I was running way faster last week, not on a treadmill. Hopefully this winter with no snow or ice or days off, which means it’s a useless winter for us students, will end soon and I can get back to longer runs outside.

Mileage – 4 miles

QOD – You have to wonder what you’re doing out there. Over the years, I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started. It comes down to self-satisfaction and a sense of achievement.

Leave a Reply

