Now For Something Completely Different

Okay so the beginning of this post has nothing to do with running. I AM SO EXCITED TO FINALLY GET A NEW PHONE! the new iPhone is being released in a week, and I am getting one. I will no longer have the broken case everyone makes fun of me for or have my phone randomly put people on hold or mute or just drop calls for no reason. I have been waiting for the release since I was eligible for an upgrade in June.  Now back to what you all actually enjoy reading about… my running tangents.

I was a total slacker for most of the semester so far and when I got really into running… I stopped training otherwise. I wasn’t lifting weights or doing abs or strength training my legs – which was an entirely dumb decision because weak smaller muscles and sucky core muscles really don’t help, if not hurt, your running abilities. So I picked up my resistance bands last week and started working on my shoulders again and started doing some abs…. Now if you had seen my workout routine when I was losing weight last fall, I was a weights and abs maniac. Sure I did like 45 minutes of interval training on the elliptical but I spent over an hour doing planks, crunches, free weights, and leg machines. Muscle boosts your metabolism so it definitely helped my weight loss, but I wasn’t getting the actual physical results I wanted, so when I started the marathon running I sortof gave up on that stuff. I’m going to try combining the training and the running since I’m on my taper now and see what difference it makes in my running (I’m looking to increase my speed JUST a little bit).

OMG THE RACE IS IN  22 DAYS AND 20 HOURS!!!

Mileage – probably none (because I’m busy with KANSAS)

QOD – We are different, in essence, from other me. If you want to win something, run 100 meters. If you want to experience something, run a marathon.

Leave a Reply

