Analyzed Running Stride and NEW SHOES

While I was attached to my pair of Adidas that have carried me through my training thus far….I felt like I was dragging bricks for feet. My shoes were wayyy too heavy for my liking. As many of you know and some of you may not, I really don’t like shoes. Not that I don’t love a great pair of heels or adorable sandals – because if society necessitates that I wear shoes, they ought to look great – but I just prefer not having anything on my feet. I enjoy being as close to the ground as possible. Yes I do have the tendency to walk around campus barefoot and I am especially prone to being barefoot while playing bass. So I went to get new shoes to remedy this unfortunate situation.

Today I went to Charm City Run which is a great running store that has a couple of locations in and around Baltimore – aka Charm City for those of you who didn’t know. And yes it is a weird nickname for one of the most dangerous cities in the country, it apparently used to fit the city well back in the day though. ANYWAYS, I went this store to buy a new pair of running shoes because everyone there seemed very knowledgeable when I went in there to buy my fuel belt a couple months ago. So first I walked around, had my feet measured and we established that while I’m a little flat footed, my feet are basically neutral. For whatever reason, I still think that’s awesome, because nothing I do/have is ever neutral or normal. After trying a few pairs, I picked the two that were the lightest and the least cushiony (I hate cushion in my shoes) and hopped on a treadmill. They video taped my stride and slowed it down and we got to analyze it and watch each movement my feet made. IT WAS SO COOL. Also I was excited to learn, I don’t pronate or supernate and I keep my feet in great ski-line (thank you marching band). I mean I could’ve been running way wrong or bad for me this whole time and never known.

In the end one pair was much closer to the ground than the other, but I only noticed it when I put one of each shoe on. I now am the proud owner of a great pair of Mizunos. I went running this afternoon in them, and I’m totally in love.

 

Mileage – 6 miles

QOD -Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.

 

Leave a Reply

