Dogs and Dragging.

My dog loves to go for walks/runs like most dogs. If he hears the word “walk” in any context he runs to the garage door with such speed that he generally can’t stop himself and runs into the door. I decided yesterday that I had about 1 mile left in my run around the neighborhood, so I’d stop by the house and get him and bring him with me. I still can’t decide if it’s a good or bad thing though! Running with the dog (he used to heel and wouldn’t leave our sides, but we’ve gotten lax about that intense training) has some serious pro’s but a few cons for sure. We alternate dragging one another. He loves to gallop along and move quickly from one tree to the next, however that means when he wants to stop, I nearly yank my arm out of its socket because he’s stopped short and I continue to run. But it’s motivating and distracting, which at the end of a hot run is nice to have the dog there to keep you off the heat. I’m almost motivated to run faster too so he can go home and get some water. I think I like it, however he’d need to be re-trained a little bit and now that our dog is older (still entirely energetic  however I forget most of the time that he’s 8 years old!) I wouldn’t want to do anything that would hurt him.

In other news, I ran around noon or so yesterday. It was 75, cloud cover, breeze, low humidity. It was absolutely gorgeous. TODAY I ran at 8 am and it was only 65 degrees but the sun was killer and it was incredibly muggy. Gotta love the mid-atlantic weather. Finally, I am getting new shoes on Friday. I AM SO EXCITED.

Mileage – 7 miles

QOD – Today I will do what others won’t, so tomorrow I can do what others can’t.

Leave a Reply

