Do you need a training partner??

So I’ve been reading a new book on training for a marathon and lots of magazine articles about it. I’m kind of addicted to researching things. But one topic that keeps coming up is having a training partner or running in clinics/groups – so my question is… is this absolutely necessary in reaching my goal?? Almost every article or book I’ve read has mentioned it at some stage. I love  running with someone from time to time, like Chelsea, Allen, and my dad. But really, I like running for me…for me. I like the time I get alone with my thoughts and building my confidence on my own. At this point, I’ve trained so much on my own I don’t know if I would want to settle into a pace with someone else all the time. For this race at least, I think I’ll continue my occasional social run, but stick to running for me.  I will definitely research clinics and running groups in the future though and see what that could mean for me once I’m done this first marathon.

Also….this week I am buying new running shoes. I am super excited.

Mileage – 6 miles

QOD – We run, not because we think it is doing us good, but because we enjoy it and cannot help ourselves…The more restricted our society and work become, the more necessary it will be to find some outlet for this craving for freedom. No one can say, ‘You must not run faster than this, or jump higher than that.’ The human spirit is indomitable.

Leave a Reply

