Hip Bursitis

So Wednesday evening with only 1.75 miles left in a great 8 miler for me, I stopped to use the bathroom real quick and snag some water. As I stood up to leave, my left hip seared with pain right inside the hip bone area and I could barely walk. Fun right? So I obviously didn’t finish the run and laid down to stretch before I walked to my car. I was reeeallllyyyy not happy about this.

Yesterday I went into the physical therapy place in our gym and asked them what they thought it could be. It took less than a minute for them to tell me that my hips were rotated way out of alignment and I probably only had some hip bursitis. It’s when the fluid filled sacs against the hip joint get inflamed. Thankfully she said a one time instance is really nothing bad and I only needed a day off from running. While I’m taking 2 days off from running just to be safe and taking ibuprofen and icing it like she said, I’m also going to do some hardcore stretching and a little strength training to protect myself. I’m not really sure how my hips got out of alignment though…but they’re back in it now. It’s really the least horrible of all the things it could have been so I’m very relieved about that.

Mileage – elliptical and strength training

QOD – Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or a day, or an hour, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take it’s place.

Leave a Reply

