Been Awhile…

So…it has been awhile since I last posted! Tragedy of midterm week and then coming home. Doesn’t mean I’ve stopped running though! I have officially begun my 33 week training program for the marathon.

– Training –

The concept is simple 14 weeks of running basic mileage….a long run on Sundays and then 3 shorter runs during the week, sometimes with a 4th day of running thrown in. That first process never has a long run of more than 10 miles. Then 18 weeks of building up to marathon distance, still running no more than 5 days a week. The 19th week is to run a marathon one week before the actual race, then rest the whole week.

Those first 14 weeks are for confidence. I know I can run 10 miles. I know I can run 7 or 8 miles. I’ve done that before. But being able to do it consistently – that’s what I need to build my confidence to running 26.2 miles come October 30th.

I will post more consistently from here on out!

Mileage – 3 miles, this afternoon around the lake

QOD – A race is a work of art that people can look at and be affected in as many ways they’re capable of understanding.

Leave a Reply

