Unplugged.

MCM FAQ – “Can I run with a walkman on” “No.” ….. uhoh.

Today I ran without my iPod for the first time ever. I added nearly 2min to my mile time….I guess music is a pretty awful crutch. Now to face the reality of running for the next 36 weeks without headphones, completely unplugged from my motivation.

So how do I motivate myself to run? What about those days that I really don’t want to wake up early enough to beat the hot sun? What about when I get bored or I am just too exhausted?  Well, for now, I am a champion of quotes. I love quotes. I have cut out over 100 quotes and placed them folded up in a jar next to my bed to read when I need the motivation and encouragement. I’d also love some running partners, you don’t have to be in for the long haul, but on a 3-6 mile day I’d love to have someone to run with.

Mileage Today – 3.5miles

QOD – You are never really playing an opponent. You are playing your own highest standards, and when you reach your limits, that is real joy.

Leave a Reply

